• General User Header
A+ A A-

Frequently Asked Questions

 

Access

 

Am I able to access kindredPHR 24 hours a day, 7 days a week?

Yes, kindredPHR can be accessed through any browser on any device at all hours of the day.

 

What if I do not agree with the terms of use?

All users of kindredPHR must agree to the Terms of Use to access and use the system. The Terms of Use are presented to users the first time they log-in (or after our Terms have been updated), with an option to either agree or not agree. Agreeing to the Terms of Use will allow you to proceed to the PHR, if you do not agree with the terms you will be logged out of the system automatically.

 

Health

 

Can kindredPHR substitute a visit to my clinic?

kindredPHR is not a substitute for a trip to the clinic. kindredPHR enables you to have better communication with your clinical providers even when you are not able to see them for an appointment. kindredPHR can help you save a trip to your doctor’s clinic if it is as simple as coming to collect lab results. You can have your results sent to you via kindredPHR upon request.

 

Does my kindredPHR record replace my medical files at my clinic?

No, your clinical team will continue to keep a detailed copy of your medical records (whether on paper or on an EMR) and will update your medical information on your kindredPHR account at your request and/or as new information becomes available.

 

Will all my medical information such as lab results, blood work and scanned documents be automatically updated on kindredPHR?

Your clinical team update your medical information as new information becomes available. If you wish to obtain a copy of specific information (ex. CT scan/ MRI), directly message your clinic with a request.

 

Messaging

 

How long will it take for my physician and/or clinic to respond to my message?

Your physician will aim to respond to each message or request in a timely fashion. However, we cannot guarantee that your physician will read your message and respond to you within a specific time period; this will vary between clinics and physicians and may change over time. kindredPHR should not be used for any time-sensitive concerns, and all medical emergencies should be reported to 911.

 

Can I delete old messages from kindredPHR?

Messages on kindredPHR are permanent and cannot be deleted, however they can be archived. All original messages received and sent on kindredPHR will be maintained in order to provide an accurate messaging history. In addition, please note that messages sent to your health providers may become a part of the medical legal record at your clinic.

 

Security

 

How can I be sure that my medical records will be secure?

kindredPHR is set up on a secure server which goes through many steps to ensure the security rights of a user. Firstly, an individual cannot gain access to any information on the server without authentication, i.e. a kindredPHR user name and password to verify their identity. Secondly, that individual can only access information for which they have authorization. This is based on the individual’s role (i.e. a user can access their own file, and also any files which have been “shared” by their network; these files’ owners control to what extent another user can view or change their record).

All the message transactions are happening inside the kindredPHR service. The messages never travel through the public Internet where someone could “wiretap” and read them. This is secure messaging, not email; messages can only be sent to other kindredPHR users.

 

Are there levels of access that can be granted within the network?

Yes, kindredPHR allows you to set permissions for no access, view only or view, add and edit specific pieces of information in your record to the users you connect with. You can set individual access for the medication list, immunizations, specific health trackers, documents and the allergy list. Each of your connections can have a different combination of access to view and/or edit these data pieces. These access levels can always be edited and even disconnected entirely within a few clicks for the security of your information.

 

Can allowed users add and/or change information in my file?

Only the users to whom you’ve granted permission can add or edit information. For any information added by an external source, you can access the author under the “added by” column.

 

Who should I share my password with?

It is VERY IMPORTANT that you DO NOT share your password with anyone! Keeping your password confidential is the best way to ensure your information will not be accessed outside of your specified consent. If you wish to grant access to a family member, other healthcare workers, schools etc., then you may do so using the “Connections” feature.

When accessing your records from public computers within a library or an internet cafe, always make sure you log out of your account when finished. This ensures that no one else has a chance to access your account.

 

Can I change my password myself if I feel the need to do so?

Yes. The “Change Password” function is accessible in your kindredPHR settings.

 

Technical

 

What if I forget my password?

There is a password reset function linked on the login page for kindredPHR. You can enter the email account you have saved in your PHR Profile and will reset your password. Once you request a password reset you will receive an email with instructions for accessing your account so that you can log in and change it.

 

When accessing my own file, I got an error message and my screen froze. What happened? What should I do?

Your login may have expired– press OK on the message, press Back or Refresh and log in again. For security purposes if your sessions is inactive for a certain period of time the system will expire your login so you will have to re-enter your username and password to confirm you are still actively using the system.

Contact Us

support@kindredphr.com

100 Main Street West, 5th Floor

Hamilton, ON L8P 1H6